I have always been incredibly lucky to have worked on issues I feel strongly and passionately about,  sexual health and young people, HIV and health promotion for men who have sex with men and now on violence against women and sexual exploitation.  My current job is my longest to date – telling in itself.   I know lots of people say they love their job but I really love my job.  Frustrating at times, a hard slog at others but I never regret being in this post.  Instead I feel incredibly lucky and privileged to work alongside pretty amazing women.

Through Inside Outside those connections have been reinforced and new people are linking in with the issue.  People with passion, energy and commitment.

I was lucky enough to find Mollie, our transcriber.  I was conscious as the recorded conversations  winged their way to her, that she was going to hear some pretty tough stuff.   I think the key for me is that she too would actually be listening to the women’s voices.  Hearing their sighs, pauses, sniffles, tears and laughs.  As well as hearing us eat cakes and slurp coffee.   Through their tapes, Mollie would also be present in that time and space.   She would be inside it with us.

I was always checking in with her – “How are you with all this?”  She knew the door was open to chat and talk.

Mollie has written a post for us on her learning and experience of being part of Inside Outside.

“I have dabbled in transcription work previously (the process of typing out recorded words spoken during interviews so that they are down on paper) but this work felt like just that, work. The experience I have had whilst transcribing the Inside Outside interviews has been very different.

As a film student studying to become a director I found the Inside Outside interviews to be fascinating. The confidence with which these strong women spoke openly about some of the most difficult years of their lives was inspiring. I found myself joining the interviewees on their emotional highs and lows as they shared their experiences of navigating the labyrinth that is the sex industry.

Similarly, hearing the interview technique used was invaluable. The professionalism, patience and genuine interest shown to her interviewees taught me a great deal about interview technique that I hope to employ in my own future work. 

Prior to working on this project, I had very little knowledge regarding prostitution.  I regret to say that due to ignorance that I am sure many people share to this subject, it would have remained that way. I am very grateful to have been able to experience such an insight into the individual stories behind such a taboo subject and I feel far more educated regarding this topic and inspired by the work of the Encompass Network  and charities like them.”

 

