16265464_10154139854232111_6982429674839750128_nPhotography: Levi for Inside Outside

I could probably start this, ‘what’s becoming my formulaic blog’ by merrily and candidly giving a glimpse into my somewhat chaotic life.  I could relay stories of the bread bin I am currently emptying (whilst battering out this blog) with what is no longer bread but a warm green squidgy scientific mass. Or the cuteness of my kids as they prance and sing around the house shouting ‘mum, can you pass me my juice?‘ (even though they are in arms reach of the juice).

But not for this blog.  It’s going to be short, sharp and sweet. 

Today, I went to Levi’s house.  We drove there together.  We got lost.  Not because we didn’t know where we were going.  But because we were chattering so rapidly that the car took on a new lease of life and decided to take us on the scenic route. Laughing at the absurdity we pulled up to her house.  We were both happy. As soon as we were in the door Levi started hauling out, from pretty bags that were hidden in the depths of her cupboard, her ‘tools of the trade’.

What struck me most about Levi’s house was that it was different from what I had previously envisaged.  In my minds eye I had imagined her room quite differently.  Even down to the side of the wall her bed was on.  I felt dizzy.  Only because my imagination had been replaced with the truth, her bed was on the other side of the room!  That just blew my mind!

The beauty of this project is I am now transformed into the photographers assistant.  I’m now Velma.  And I’m proud to be her.  I am the passer of things in which we can construct our still life photographs.  But there were no apples, oranges or bonnie silver teapots.  There was, however, whips, sexy lingerie and KY Jelly! 

Levi is bursting with spirit.  She has a contagious energy.  I really enjoy spending time with her.  She has a sense of humour that really meets with mine. I sit on the edge of her bed watching her, like teenagers hanging out, listening to Take That.  Nothing about this is strange.  It’s like I actually know her….

I tell her to stop me when I start my invasive questioning.  I tell her to tell me when I have gone too far.  I tell her that she never has to answer anything if it’s too much.  But she never does.  She answers every question honestly.  But more than that she brings so many great artistic ideas to table.  I stand back and watch in awe as she photographs the objects in her life that are so true to prostitution.

Then something completely magical happens.  Our very first selfie in the bathroom.  Of course we are trying our hardest to conceal her identity.  We are taking this selfie moment very seriously.   Staring in the mirror whilst flinging our hair about trying to look inconspicuous.  Like spies in a movie.

16299626_10154139852902111_3091040164456913667_o

Photography: Levi & Kathryn for Inside Outside

It’s beautiful!  It’s a work of art! I’m not entirely sure who actually hit the ‘take’ button.  It doesn’t really matter.  It’s like synergy and my heart skipped a beat.  For a minute we were both in the Matrix……

The two hours we spent together were tenderly rounded off with Levi asking me to read to her my last blog, which is based on her.  We were sitting on the sofa together, closely.  Then I felt an energy shift and I looked at her as tears were streaming down her face.  And she wholeheartedly said…..(Well that’s between me and Levi!)

